Spectre Carpenter (21/05/1897)

Colac Herald (Vic. : 1875 – 1918), Friday 21 May 1897, page 6


SPECTRE CARPENTER

Fifteen years ago I was an apprentice on board a Liverpool ship. While lying in harbor on the coast of California, the carpenter, with whom I was very friendly, went ashore one evening and was not again heard of before we sailed.

One night on the passage home, myself and a companion had put out the light, and were “turning in,” when I distinctly saw the form of the missing carpenter sitting on the edge of the bunk previously occupied by him.

He was dressed in his usual clothes, but was pale and emaciated, and seemed to wish to communicate some message about his tools and clothes. My companion’s description tallied exactly with my own. When we reached England we found that the body of the missing carpenter had been recovered from the harbor on the very day on which his ghost appeared to us.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started